Ceremony for the 2021 Heigl Award (from left to right): Eduard H. Dörrenberg, GFFU President; award winner Dr. Dörte Jenett; award winner Dr. Daniel Seidler; Matthias Franz, Chairman of the Heigl Foundation (Photo: Dieter Joswig).

Heigl Award

The Heigl Foundation grants an annual award of € 10,000. The award is presented for empirical or conceptual work in the field of psychotherapy research and was granted by the founders Annelise Heigl-Evers and Franz Seraph Heigl - awarding institution: Gesellschaft von Freunden und Förderern der HHU for Heigl-Stiftung, Düsseldorf. Traditionally, the Heigl-Award will be rewarded in spring in the "Haus der Universität" in Düsseldorf.

An example from 2021: The 2021 joint award winners, physician Dr. Dörte Kerstin Jenett and psychologist Dr. Daniel Seidler, had spent many years researching to promote psychosomatic medicine at the Düsseldorf University Hospital (UKD). The focus of their work as part a large multi-centre study was to demonstrate the high effectiveness of inpatient psychodynamic psychotherapy for depression in clinics for psychosomatic medicine. This large-scale study spanned 15 clinics and was conducted over a period of ten years.

GFFU web news from July 2021 on the subject

Heigl Award 2024
Detailed information (in German)

For further information: send e-mail